Skip to content

My first blog!! Angelo Falcone, MD

October 16, 2009

angheadshotwhitecoat

Why am I starting a blog?  That is a good question. I have been debating starting a blog for a while. Several reasons come to mind. The first is that each of us, regardless of  what work we do, what status in life we hold or special talent with which we have been blessed leads a unique life. Through the lens of that life we can offer comments and interpretation on events around us that may assist another person in understanding an issue or feel that they are not alone. It is also a chance to contribute to the massive explosion of knowledge we are witnessing in today’s electronic age. I’d also like to learn from people who may eventually respond to something I write and help me gain a new perspective on an issue or overcome a challenge I may be facing.

This blog will begin from where I reside. I am an emergency physician, practicing in my chosen field for the last 15 years. It is a specialty of medicine that accepts all people without regard to social status, demographic group or citizenship. In the “noise” of all the negative things said about medicine I have always been proud that those of us who practice emergency medicine (and I include the entire team; medics, nurses, techs and clerks) have always been and will always be the safety net of medicine. It is a unique and humbling place to be. We see the unfiltered version of life and respond with compassion and technical skill to improve the health of the people we serve. It is not a perfect practice and we have all seen our share of grizzled veterans who are burned out from one too many encounters with drunks, agitated psychiatric patients and occasionally unappreciative parents of a 2 year old child with a cold who really doesn’t need an antibiotic. Those who reside in “pleasant society” seem to ignore the fact that these are our fellow human beings who really do exist and need care just like you.

My unique perspective also comes from the fact that I have the privilege of helping to lead an organization that cares for 275,000 patients per year in Maryland. Medical Emergency Professionals (MEP) has been, and likely will be, the only organization in which I will spend my professional career. I mention this to give people who do not know me some perspective of what I will be speaking about in the upcoming posts. Our organization provides care in suburban hospitals, rural facilities, trauma centers and freestanding emergency departments. It is through this experience that we have learned a few things about providing emergency care. We are not perfect, no organization is, and we do try to be open and honest when we realize things are amiss. This blog is another step in that evolution in that I am asking for feedback and will take to heart (for the most part) what is posted in reply to my musings.

Finally what is written is the responsibility of me, Angelo Falcone. At times I may ask a few of my colleagues to contribute to the blog since these are people whom I respect and have something impactful to share. Like most blogs I may place links to some interesting articles or opinions over time. I hope you will find it to helpful in understanding how an emergency department functions, how to provide better care and perhaps be more sensitive to the challenges we face.

Thanks for reading. May it be an interesting journey for us all.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lenny Chornock permalink
    October 16, 2009 5:29 pm

    I also plan on spending my entire career with MEP. However, as a PA who has worked with you for a majority of your 15 year career,I think it would be nice if when you speak of the “entire team”, that you mention the PA’s and NP’s who work side by side with you in the trenches! Call me sensitive if you will, but I have been fighting that recognition battle for 25 years! All that being said, for anyone who reads this, MEP treats all the MLP’s with fairness, equality and promotes true comraderie amongst all in the group!

    • October 16, 2009 5:46 pm

      Fair enough Lenny! ALthough when I was specifying the team I already assumed the great NPs and PAs with whom the docs work were seen as one unit. I will be more sensitive to this fact in the future. Thanks

    • October 19, 2009 2:30 am

      Congratulations Angelo!!! I’ll continue to read & reflect. You’re a very talented and insightful physician and I’m very honored to be your friend & collegue! Cheers.

  2. October 19, 2009 5:56 pm

    I am looking forward to reading your future blogs, Angelo. Especially looking forward to your opinion on the new health care reform.

Leave a Reply

